Skip to content

APC Primaries: Adamu announces Lawan As Consensus Candidate At NWC Meeting

National Chairman of the All Progressives Congress, APC, Senator Abdullahi Adamu has announced Senate president Ahmad Lawan as the party’s consensus presidential candidate, contrary to the position of most Northern Governors on power shift to the South

Loconaija gathered that Adamu announced this at the meeting of the National Working Committee, NWC, on Monday, in Abuja.

However, according to sources, some members of the NWC have kicked against the move and insisted that other Presidential aspirants which include Asiwaju Bola Tinubu, Vice President Yemi Osinbajo, Dr Kayode Fayemi, Engr. David Umahi must be allowed to contest the primary election at tomorrow’s convention scheduled at the Eagle Square, Abuja.

The adoption of Lawan as a consensus candidate is against the position of 11 APC northern governors who endorsed that power must shift to the South after President Muhammadu Buhari’s tenure.

In his defence, Adamu told the NWC that he did not arrive at the choice of Lawan without consulting President Buhari.

Reports also have it that in reaction to the move, some APC northern governors have hurried to Aso Villa and currently meeting with President Muhammadu Buhari.

The meeting is coming a day before the commencement of the party’s primary election to elect its flag bearer for the 2023 presidential election.

Although according to reports, President Buhari has maintained his position on the consensus arrangement, there has not been any agreement among the 23 presidential aspirants.

The governors in attendance are the Chairman of Progressive Governors Forum and governor of Kebbi State, Atiku Bagudu, chairman of Northern governors Forum and governor of Plateau State, Simon Lalong, Abubakar Baduru (Jigawa) and Babagana Zulum (Borno).

Others are Aminu Bello Masari (Katsina), Abdullahi Sule (Nasarawa), Bello Matawale (Zamfara), Mallam Nasir El-Rufai (Kaduna), Abdullahi Ganduje (Kano), Yahaya Inuwa (Gombe), Abubakar Bello (Niger), and the Yobe State governor, Mai Mala Buni.

At the time of gathering this report, only the governor of Kogi state, Yahaya Bello, who is also a presidential aspirant, was yet to arrive.

Leave a Reply Cancel reply

Exit mobile version